# LIBERTARIAN PARTY OF CALIFORNIA Executive Committee Meeting Minutes 3-14-2004

### LIBERTARIAN PARTY OF CALIFORNIA

March 14, 2004

**Executive Committee Meeting** 

San Jose Doubletree, 2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110; Tel: 408-453-4000

1. The meeting was called to order at 5:30 pm.

## Officers:

PRESENT Aaron Starr, Chair

PRESENT Lawrence Samuels, Northern Vice Chair

PRESENT Mark Selzer, Southern Vice Chair

PRESENT Monica Kadera, Treasurer

PRESENT Daniel Wiener, Secretary

#### At-Large:

PRESENT M Carling
PRESENT Ted Brown
PRESENT Bruce Dovner
PRESENT Allen Hacker
PRESENT Mark Hinkle

ABSENT David Nolan (At-Large Alternate)
PRESENT B.J. Wagener (At-Large Alternate)

### Regional Representatives:

PRESENT Steve Cicero, San Diego
PRESENT Allen Rice, Santa Clara
PRESENT Bruce Cohen, Orange County
PRESENT Frank Manske, East Bay

#### 2. Public Comments and Announcements

People introduced themselves.

3. Approve Agenda

The Committee Assignments was moved up to #7, and the Operations Committee was added under it as item q.

An item b, Resolutions, was added under New Business.

The agenda was approved as amended.

- 4. Consent Calendar no items
- 5. Officer & Staff Reports

Chair - Aaron Starr

A Guest Opinion program should be created, along the lines of Indiana's.

Northern Vice-Chair - Lawrence Samuels

The northern and southern regional chairs should get together with the state Vice-Chairs.

Southern Vice-Chair - Mark Selzer

We need less minutia. Progress is being made with the public access TV show.

## LIBERTARIAN PARTY OF CALIFORNIA Executive Committee Meeting Minutes 3-14-2004

Secretary - Daniel Wiener

Aubri finished tabulating the voting for national delegates. Everyone on the list was elected except Gary Copeland. A new Office Manager is urgently needed. Ted Brown said he may have someone. Mark Hinkle recommended Thea and Hugh McClean.

Treasurer - Monica Kadera

December financials were reported.

#### 6. 2004 Budget ratification

The 2004 Budget, which had been adopted at the December 20, 2003 Executive Committee meeting, was considered. There was discussion regarding administrative and office expenses. The Budget was ratified without modifications on a 12-1-1 roll-call vote, as follows:

Voting YES were Aaron Starr, Monica Kadera, Bruce Dovner, Ted Brown, Allen Rice, Allen Hacker, Mark Hinkle, M Carling, Lawrence Samuels, Daniel Wiener, Bruce Cohen, and Steve Cicero. Voting NO was Frank Manske. Philip Heath ABSTAINED.

#### 7. Committee Assignments

Ted Brown will chair the Candidate Recruitment & Elected Officials committee.

Bruce Dovner will chair the Voter Registration committee and the Infrastructure Development committee, in addition to serving as webmaster.

Allen Rice will chair the Legislation committee.

Allen Hacker will chair the Volunteer Development committee.

Mark Hinkle will chair the Member Communications committee.

M Carling will chair the Event Planning & Oversight committee.

Philip Heath will be the Student Coordinator.

B.J. Wagener will chair the Guest Opinion committee.

Terry Floyd will chair the Coalition Building committee.

Daniel Wiener will be the figurehead chair of the Membership Retention committee, with Allen Hacker and Allen Rice doing most of the work.

Ted Brown, Aaron Starr, M Carling, Daniel Wiener, and Mark Hinkle were approved without objection as the new Operations Committee members.

Bruce Cohen will chair the Fundraising committee as well as the Awards committee.

10. It was decided that the next Executive Committee meeting would be held on May 22nd in the Los Angeles area at a place to be determined.

At approximately 7:20 pm it was moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed 8-5.